Off The Pigs!

Ok so I finally got an OiNK invite, days after I discovered the site existed and of course my novice torrent downloading skills got me banned from uploading within a week. Apparently there’s strict transcoding rules and I fucked up by uploading a Fall Out Boy Mega Remix which wasn’t formatted correctly or something like that and was given a warning. This is why CDs and good ole limewire cannot die, internet junkies take their music too seriously. I did however get a hold of Keith Murray’s new album and the KRS/Marly Marl joint and I wasn’t completely disappointed. Rather than write a review, see what Keith Murray has to say himself…

MY ALBUM’S OUT: Keith Murray
By: Yours truly

Nobody knows the real Keith Murray – he says so himself. According to the Long Island-bred Def Squad emcee, unfortunate circumstances- from label disputes to jail time – compromised his sound and passion on every one of his albums – from The Most Beautifullest Thing In This World to He’s Keith Murray. But with Rap-murr-phobia, released today, the tables have turned. On a new independent label, Koch Entertainment, Murray has found the freedom to drop an album unbound by commercial standards and formulas. With Rap-murr-phobia, Murray’s goal was to target his core audience – who he believes to be real hip hop heads – and he enlisted the talents of Erick Sermon, Mike City and German beatmaker Shuko. Keith Murray: his album’s out.

So, you’re from Long Island?
I’m from Strong Island. Central Heights and Strong Island/Crown Heights in Brooklyn.

What was it like growing up there?
It’s your typical urban area. Drugs, domestic violence, death, jail. It’s spread out, so you’re not on top of families like the city. For the most part, it had its good times and bad times.

How has that affected your music?
It let me tell you that no matter where you at, there’s still positive and negative in life. Everything in life is positive and negative. You can’t have one without the other so people will [inaudible] you as Long Island is soft. Long Island is pretty and cute. Naw they don’t know it, there’s black areas where black people are sectioned off, given the worse jobs if any, mad drugs and mad death. Kids is shooting kids, babies having babies. The black community is crazy all over, not just where you at. It’s a shame. I found that out by traveling. Everywhere I go reminds me of the city and the town I’m from, nothing’s different, but you go to another like Riker’s Island. They think Long Island is soft. I be like yo, y’all dudes is crazy. We all the same people.

Word on the street is that before your recorded your first album you battled Big Daddy Kane.
My uncle from Brooklyn used to bodyguard for him, so I just had the opportunity to rhyme with him.

How did that impact your career?
It gave me courage. Encouraged me. After I rhymed, he said ‘How old are you?’ – surprised that I was that nice. So you know, I went home like yo, I can battle with Kane. I was invincible. That made me step my game up a million percent. He was Big Daddy Kane, Raw, and he was like, yo, you nice. I’m like 15. Like, ok, can’t nobody ever see me now.

Can you tell me more about the album?
The album is Rap-murr-phobia. Rap is what I do, Murr is the first four letters of my last name, phobia is the fear that they have of a real hip hop artist. I can see it in public when I walk down the street…The media fears us. Rap ain’t selling, they bashing hip hop. The politicians say hip hop is the cause of this, hip hop is the cause of that. Well, I am hip hop, so have them fear when I come out, because I will do what I want to do to target my core audience. This album is for my core audience, not for those who don’t understand it. It’s for those who love it and understand it. My album is produced by Erick Sermon. It’s got 18 tracks with three skits. I got a producer on there from LA name Mike City, dope ass record on there. My next single is called “Hustle On” produced by a German producer named Shuko.

You mentioned that people aren’t realizing what a real hip hop artist is. What would you say is a real hip hop artist?
Well I ain’t say they didn’t recognize what a real hip hop artist is. My core audience does. I’m not tryna convince anybody else, but I’m representing hip hop for those who tryna shut us down. What I figure a real hip hop artist is, is a person that’s original, tells the truth, understands the history and the culture – [someone who’s] not just getting in it for money. It takes some real hip hop individuals that work hard to achieve the things they do.

Eve once said that when rappers get signed, they’re not involved with ciphers or battles anymore. Do you think that’s true?
Most definitely, because they’re sure that somebody else is going to defeat them, and then their value would go down. You jeopardizing a lot when you challenge somebody and they get the best of you and it’s known?! That shit can ruin your career.

One of my favorite tracks is that first single called “Nobody Do It Better,” featuring Keri. It’s produced by Erick Sermon, and it explains Keith Murray – past, present, and where I’m taking things after Def Jam.

Def Jam was a sour deal. There was controversy. People said I did things I didn’t do, and there was a lot of misconceptions in magazines. Like, oh, he had anger issues – things of that nature. So I listen and sat very quietly, [and I thought about] myself and my career and the point I’m at. And I put it in a record and everybody loves it.

I got a song called “Hustle On.” It’s a motivational song. “Mama wasn’t rich, my Daddy wasn’t poor/I couldn’t take no more / I had to get my hustle on.” I got a track called “Don’t Fuck With Em,” mainly about people who cling to you when you got something, but when your situation ain’t at its peak, they run – when you need them, they ain’t never around. I got a record with the Def Squad, which is Erick and Redman, called “You Ain’t Nobody.” I sat down and really really really thought about this album that’s why I love all the sons so much because they so meaningful and they dope as hell and I took my time and I studied myself, my history. Why people like me and things of that nature and then I just went back to my true essence. That’s why I love this album so much – because it’s so me. Nobody was around when I was recording it, no label telling me what I should do or what I can’t do or what they ain’t feelin’, breaking my spirits. This one’s got my spirits up. I listen to it all the time. I love it.

What message are you trying to send with this record?
I just wanted to reestablish myself as one of the dopest lyricists that ever touched the microphone: subject matter, thought provoking, innovative flow, and an extensive vocabulary. I represent a take on the spectrum of hip hop that is not occupied by any other artist. What I did with this album, I reestablished myself, I been doing it for four years and let people know that I really still can do this because I know I can and I feel I can within my heart and my soul.

My last two albums wasn’t completed by me. I was in jail when It’s a Beautiful Thing came out – I was in jail and told them, naw, don’t put it out, it ain’t finished. They put it out anyway. I was unsatisfied. With the last album, it stopped being fun to record. After Def Jam had their little controversy with Kevin Liles and Lyor Cohen leaving. It just stopped being fun. This album, I went back to The Most Beautifullest Thing In This World and Enigma and all of Redman’s first albums and I listened. Sat down and put myself in that frame of mind and then me and Erick started recording it. and it was fun and through the whole thing. We started from scratch we didn’t use much samples… it’s just mad fun and dope. I’m back to the original me. I feel within myself. People may not have known that it wasn’t the original me but I’m 100% comfortable with this album.

How would you describe the sound of the original you, if your past albums haven’t been that authentic?
The sound would be a concentrated sound, concentrated flow. Before I was trying things. I stuck to the way I recorded my most potent album. I stuck to my methods before I was taken out of my zone. Like when you hear my first single, you know I have a distinctive sound. I rhyme over open beats, meaning the beats be musical instead of like loud and grungy.

What’s your processes for writing or recording a track?
I don’t answer no phones. I sit at the table, play the beat, smoke some weed, stay in a positive state of mind and then I just build. I build off significant factors in my life and the art of emceeing and coming up with new flows – just staying on the cutting edge. I listen to a track, it’ll tell me what to do or I’ll have something for it. I’m a [music] architect.

Why should people go out and buy your album.
If you love hip hop you love this album, simple and plain. Every song, you can play back to back to back to back to back over and over again. It’s for the females. I know a lot of females that love hip hop more than half the dudes that say they do. There’s just not a lot of aggressive young women. It’s not just physical. So check out my new video, vote for the record when you hear it. Go to myspace.com/keithmurray, hit me up. Get that album today and support. People say, Yo I didn’t know the album was out or Niggas ain’t putting out real hip hop no more. This is real hip hop. Support it; make it a success for all of us. It ain’t just for me to get money. It’s for hip hop to move further.

~ by neorealist on August 2, 2007.

4 Responses to “Off The Pigs!”

  1. If anyone else needs an invite, you can get one here: Giving away 4 OiNK invites

  2. Please Please give me a Oink invite. Pretty please. I’ve been trying to get one for months now! Arghhh! I’m hyperventilating. How come you haven’t had the whole internet posting here! I generally seed a reasonable amount and don’t run a deficit budget.

  3. Oh crud! that’s just a link! And the hordes are on that link.

  4. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Pelf.

Leave a Reply

 
